Help Center Welcome, Guest Login

How to Use Clips

Last Updated: May 09, 2017 10:37AM PDT

How to Use Clips

This article explains what the Clips feature is, how to use it, and other useful information.

Notice an error or have feedback for this article? Let us know!

Clips allows Twitch viewers to quickly share the most uniquely-Twitch moments from broadcasts while enabling Broadcasters to grow their channels through social sharing!

 


Index (click to jump to):
Creating and Sharing a Clip
How to Create a Clip on Mobile
How to Find Clips
Additional Tips for Broadcasters
Frequently Asked Questions

 
  1. When you see something memorable on a stream, click the Clip button. By default, it grabs the video from about 25 seconds before and five seconds after you click the Clips button.

  2. A new tab will open, and the video will be ready for replay in just a few seconds. You can pause and restart the Clip or let it play on a loop.
     
  3. Give your Clip a custom name, if you would like. Otherwise, the name of the clip will be generated from the title of the broadcast. Make sure to press "Save' to make sure your changes are stored.
     
  4. Did you not get the exact right timing? No problem, because with the Clips Trimming feature, you can just hit the edit button to trim down to as few as ten seconds or extend the length to make your clip up to sixty seconds long. Plus, while you are editing, you will see the past ninety seconds of the stream or video, taking some of the guesswork out of when to make your clip.
     
  5. If you are done making edits to the clip, press the "publish" button to save your changes and then you will be taken to the viewing page.
     
  6. Click the share buttons to copy the link or share directly to a variety of social networks. Once you have shared the video, your friends will be able to watch the recorded stream from the point where the Clip ends or jump right into the broadcast and join you in chat.
     
  7. To remove a Clip you have created, click the gear icon on any Clip viewing page and click on Remove Clip.

 


On the Clip page, your Twitch ID is at the top, and under the video is the Broadcaster's name, the game they were playing, and the title of their stream.

Clips are also integrated with Chat, Channel Feed, and Pulse so that when you share a Clip, the URL is displayed as a thumbnail preview with additional info about the Clip. You can also create Clips with a keyboard shortcut (Alt+X on PC/Option+X on Mac).
 
HELPFUL HINT
You can also make Clips from VODs! Just go to the past broadcasts page and find the VOD you were watching, skip to the segment, and hit that Clip button.
 

On iOS:
  1. Tap on the screen during the stream, past broadcast or highlight you are watching to bring up the video options
  2. Tap the Share icon and tap Create Clip at the bottom of the share options
     
On Android:
  1. Tap the screen during the stream, past broadcast or highlight you are watching.
  2. Tap on the Create Clip button on the video player

 


Your Clip will generate automatically and then you can choose between sharing on a variety of social media platforms or sharing directly to another user on Twitch via Whispers:
 

 

 

To view popular Clips made of a channel, they can now be found under the "Clips" tab directly on the channel page. You can filter by the most viewed clips from the past 24 hours, week, month, and all time, or filter by trending clips.
 
 
Clips can also be found by game, with similar most-viewed filtering options and the ability to filter by language:
 
 
HELPFUL HINT
Clips can be a great way to quickly get familiar with a new channel or catch up on highlights you might have missed.

To view all your Clips you have made in a single spot, visit My Clips, located in the top right dropdown menu of any Clip page, to see every Clip you have made and every Clip from your channel. Each Clip on the list will show who clipped it or what Channel it is Clipped from (depending on if you are viewing Clips of your channel or your own Clips), and how many times it was watched:
 

 


Clips made on your channel are saved and appear in a list on the second tab, Clips of my Channel. Plays are updated every 15 minutes and are counted for Clips created after August 11th, 2016. Recent Clips will appear in this list, and are listed in reverse-chronological order.

A video sidebar pops out whenever you view a Clip from your library for easy review:
 

 

 

Here are some ideas to get Clips working for you to help you grow your channel further:
  • Next time you stream, ask your viewers intermittently throughout the broadcast to make and share Clips of your best moments. Then simply check out the list, select the ones you like best, and share anywhere you like. This functions like free curation of your content!
     
  • You can embed your favourite Clips in your Channel Feed:
     

    This is a great use of those Clips from your Clip library. The person who took the Clip receives recognition being featured on your feed, and your other viewers will be able to easily watch a great moment directly on your channel page, no navigating away required.
     
  • And you can share Clips directly to your channel feed, so all your friends and viewers can see your favorite Twitch moments:
     
  • You can also download the Clip simply by right-clicking on the video screen and selecting Save Video As. This is a great option if you wish to compile them into a "Highlights of the Week" video!
     
  • Your Clips will never expire so feel free to share even on a #tbt across various social media.
  • Q: Do Clips ever expire?
    • A: No, just like Highlights, Clips will never expire!
       
  • Q: Where can I find all the clips created of my channel?
  • Q: How do I remove clips of my channel?
    • A: You can delete clips created of your channel by finding the clip you want to remove and deleting it. The option is in the settings (cog icon) when you hover on the player or you can find it in the 3 vertical dots icon. You have the option to delete that specific clip, or delete all clips from the related video which will remove ALL clips created from that livestream and video.
       

       

       
  • Q: Do Clips ever expire?
    • A: You can give specific users a 24 hour timeout from creating clips from your channel or permanently ban them from creating clips of your channel. This option is in the settings (cog icon) when you hover on the player or find it in the 3 vertical dots icon. Timeout and banning users will also timeout and ban these users from participating in chat in your channel.

      If you would like to delete a clip AND timeout or ban a user from creating clips on your channel, you will need to suspend or ban before removing the clip so that you can access the menu.
       
  • Q: I found a Clip that violates Twitch's Community Guidelines/Terms of Service. What do I do?
    • A: If you need to report a Clip, you can click on the gear icon in the video player to access the report tool. If you are the owner of the channel of the clip, you can just remove the clip.