Help Center Welcome, Guest Login

Guide to Chat on Videos

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 12:49PM PDT

Guide to Chat on Videos

This article explains how to leave messages on videos and how to moderate your video chat.

Notice an error or have feedback for this article? Let us know!
 

The Twitch chat experience is now available on all videos, including Uploads, Past Broadcasts, and Highlights, giving viewers and creators a new way to connect with each other and enjoy the community interaction that makes Twitch unique..

When you watch a video on Twitch, your messages are timestamped and baked into the experience for all future viewers to see. Whether you want to reply to other viewers, leave commentary on your own videos (do we smell a Director’s Cut?), or make that great joke you just thought of in the shower, you now have the power.

With chat on videos you can…

  • Leave messages on the videos you watch or reply to existing messages
  • Leave messages on your own videos to share an extra layer of detail with your viewers
  • See previous messages play back when you are watching a video
  • Stay up to date on replies to your messages or messages on your videos with notifications
  • Moderate messages on your own videos (or for channels you moderate) to keep your channel safe

Read below for more info.

Index (click to jump):
How to Chat on Videos
How to Get Notifications for Video Message
How To Moderate Video Messages


When you watch an Upload, Past Broadcast, or Highlight, you can leave a timestamped message that will play back for future viewers as they watch the video.
 

 

 
  1. Type your message in the composer box
  2. Use the “post” button to leave your message. The timestamp will update based on your progress in the video.
    • Hint: You can pause the video to make sure your message appears at just the right moment.
    • There is a short cooldown period for posting messages on videos.
  3. Messages appear with the username of the person who left them.
  4. Tap “reply” to respond directly to another message on a video.
   

Notifications let you know when messages are left on videos you care about.

You can choose which notifications you receive on the Notifications tab of your Settings page. If you receive too many of a certain type, you can always turn it off.

Select from the following options:
  • Someone replies to my message or reply - You will receive a notification on Twitch whenever someone replies to a message or reply you have made on a video.
  • A video I created has messages - You will receive a notification on Twitch whenever someone leaves a message on a video you published. Responding to this type of notification will open the Moderation Dashboard.
  • A video from a channel I moderate has messages - You will receive a notification on Twitch whenever someone leaves a message on a video from a channel you moderate.
 

Wherever possible, we have applied the moderation settings you already have in place for live chat. There are also some moderation options specific to videos that will help you cultivate your ideal community.

Read below to learn more.

Video Message Settings

  • Followers-only Mode for Videos - This setting is turned on by default for all users, set to 1 Day. When enabled, viewers must follow you for a specified amount of time before they are allowed to post messages on your videos. The time-periods you can select range from 10 minutes to 3 months.
    • This setting is separate from the Followers-only Mode setting for live chat.
  • Hold all messages for review/Disable all messages - This setting allows you to hold all messages on your videos for manual review or disable all messages on all of your videos.

Channel Owners and Channel Moderators can manage both of these settings under “Moderation Preferences” on the Settings tab of the Broadcaster Dashboard.

 

 

Settings Shared with Chat

The following settings are shared between live stream chat and video messages:
  • AutoMod - this system uses natural language processing to hold risky messages so they can be reviewed by a channel moderator before appearing to other viewers.
  • Channel-Banned Words - these words will not appear in messages.
  • Email Verification - this setting requires a user to have a verified email before they can send messages.
  • Banned Chatters - these users have already been banned in chat cannot leave messages on any videos on your channel. Likewise, users who are banned from leaving messages will not be able to chat live on your stream.

You can review these settings on the Channel & Video Settings page. Note that any changes will apply to both live stream chat and messages on videos.

Moderating Video Messages on the Moderation Dashboard

On the Moderation Dashboard, you can take the following moderation actions:

 

  • Delete a message - click the trash icon below the message to delete it permanently from your video.
    • NOTE: You cannot report a message to Twitch after it has been deleted. See the How To Report Users section below.
  • Ban a user from your channel and delete all of their messages - click the three dots icon and select “Ban User” to delete all of the messages that user has made on any of your videos and prevent them from leaving any future messages on your videos or sending messages in your live chat. Review all of your banned users on the Channel & Video Settings page.
    • NOTE: You cannot report a message to Twitch after it has been deleted. See the How To Report Users section below.
  • Unpublish a message - click the three dots icon and select “Unpublish Message” to remove a message from your video without deleting it. This option should be used when you want to report a user to Twitch for leaving a message that violates the Twitch Terms of Service.
  • Report a message to Twitch - click the three dots icon and select “Report Message” to report a user for leaving a message that violates the Twitch Terms of Service

 

Settings on the Moderation Dashboard can be managed by Channel Owners and Channel Moderators.

Best Practices For Reporting Users

If a user leaves multiple messages on your video that violate the Twitch Terms of Service, take the following steps, IN THIS ORDER:
  1. Unpublish the offending messages - This will immediately remove them being visible on your videos.
  2. Report the messages to Twitch - This sends a copy of the message to Twitch for review.
  3. Delete the messages or Ban the user - You cannot report a message after it has been deleted, so it is crucial that you do so before deleting a message or banning a user. Deleting a message permanently deletes an individual message. Banning a user deletes all of the messages that user has made on any of your videos and prevents them from leaving any future messages on your videos or sending messages in your live chat.

These steps can be taken by Channel Owners and Channel Moderators.

How to Add and Manage Channel Moderators

Visit your channel on Twitch and use the following chat commands in your channel chat.
  • Add a Moderator - to grant Channel Moderator access to a user, type /mod <username>.
  • Remove a Moderator - to remove Channel Moderator access from a user, type /unmod <username>.
  • Review all Moderators - to see a full list of your Channel Moderators, type /mods.
Learn more about Channel Moderators in our Guide to Building a Moderation Team.
Learn more about channel chat commands in our Guide to Chat Commands.